Hello,
I am using VASP 6.3.0 to do machine learning. I didn't find this problem has been reported on the forum. I checked the VASP release notes, but still not sure whether this small problem has been resolved with the latest version.
When setting ML_ISTART = 1, VASP always results in an error while writing the first step data of BEEF for energy, force, and stress as shown below:
REGR 0 1 18 2.78261211E+02 3.15392810E-02 7.05796998E-13 2.12763135E+02
REGR 0 1 19 2.89452503E+02 3.14841992E-02 6.77323324E-13 2.12379793E+02
REGR 0 1 20 2.98229258E+02 3.14429706E-02 6.56529144E-13 2.12092816E+02
REGRF 0 1 21 3.04941167E+02 3.14125333E-02 6.41457066E-13 2.11879210E+02 1.27680294E+14 1.60590301E+08
STDAB 0 2.47326171E-01 9.42364172E-01 2.51760944E+01
ERR 0 1.19960196E-02 1.67365666E-01 5.39205417E+00
BEEF 0 3.10250016-309 0.00000000E+00 1.36023908+187 2.00000000E-03 0.00000000E+00 1.45705968+229
I attached the BEEF data I extracted. It has been truncated to reduce the size.
It doesn't seem to be a problem from the second step, can you please kindly have a look? If this has been resolved in the newer release, can you please let me know? Thanks in advance.
Best,
Xiliang
bug with writing ML_LOGFILE
Moderators: Global Moderator, Moderator
-
- Newbie
- Posts: 37
- Joined: Thu May 19, 2022 8:44 am
bug with writing ML_LOGFILE
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
-
- Global Moderator
- Posts: 236
- Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2021 7:40 am
Re: bug with writing ML_LOGFILE
Hello Xiliang!
Thank you very much for reporting this problem which has not been fixed yet! The reason for this unwanted behavior is uninitialized variables that slipped through our fingers at some point. I have fixed it in our development version so the next release will already include the bugfix.
If you have access to the source code and want to fix it just add the following initializations
after line 1531 in the file src/ml_ff_abinitio.F. It should look like this after adding the lines:
Then recompile VASP, the ML_LOGFILE should then contain zeros instead of garbage numbers. Thanks again for bringing this to our attention!
All the best,
Andreas Singraber
Thank you very much for reporting this problem which has not been fixed yet! The reason for this unwanted behavior is uninitialized variables that slipped through our fingers at some point. I have fixed it in our development version so the next release will already include the bugfix.
If you have access to the source code and want to fix it just add the following initializations
Code: Select all
ABN%BE=0.0_q
ABN%BEAV=0.0_q
ABN%BEMAX=0.0_q
Code: Select all
....
1529 ! Initialization of variables
1530 ABN%A=0.0_q
1531 ABN%B=0.0_q
1532 ABN%BE=0.0_q
1533 ABN%BEAV=0.0_q
1534 ABN%BEMAX=0.0_q
1535 ABN%CTIFOR_ALLCONF=0.0_q
1536 ABN%EATOM_KIN(1:ABN%MIONS_ALLOCATE)=0.0_q
...
All the best,
Andreas Singraber